Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:47 a.m. - November 23, 2007
A Glorious Turkey Day
For the first time ever in the �real job� phase of my life, I�m working on the day after Thanksgiving.

Of course, Liz is cackling to herself, since she had to work the day after Turkey Day many times in her career. The stock market can�t take the day off, so to work she went, even though the trading volume usually resembled the stock volume in Mozambique.

Yesterday, though, was a fantastic Thanksgiving.

Forgotten was the bad day that was Wednesday, because, well, you have to move on and live one day at a time.

Instead, Liz prepared a delicious turkey with the trimmings. Katie and Kristin helped with the green bean casserole. The night before, Liz and Katie made a pumpkin pie, and then Liz made an apple pie. Kristin taste tested both of them yesterday morning. (She�s becoming a little sneak, she is�heh. I�ve got a couple of scamps as daughters.)

I made the stuffing and made sure that the gravy was heated up. Otherwise, I stayed out of the way, as you don�t want too many cooks in the kitchen. Also, that was the way I was brought up.

Mom always had to have things done HER way, and she was more apt to do them herself than allow people to help, much. Now, did she complain that no one was helping her? Yes, yes of course she did. But you know, that just added to the family dynamic.

I remember when Liz ate with us for the first time. She learned that you had better speak up otherwise you won�t be heard OR fed.

But the meal yesterday was delicious, and the setting was almost perfect as well. We have actually cleared off our kitchen and dining room, so we got to eat in our dining room on our table. There was a dusting of snow on the hill in our backyard, and that made it picturesque.

We all gave thanks and ate our fill. I indulged in the great Thanksgiving tradition of seconds, and then pie.

And then the great Thanksgiving nap in front of football occurred. How the Cowboys trounced the Jets, I know not, as it was scoreless when I drifted off and when I awoke Brad Johnson was playing QB and Tony Romo and TO were on the sidelines dreaming of their post-game feast.

It was just a tremendously awesome Thanksgiving. My first one in Minnesota was memorable for sure.

Tomorrow, I�m meeting with some friends. One of my high school and college friends is now a Buddhist Monk, and he�s traveling through the Cities, so some of us are going to eat some Thai food with him for lunch.

Pad Thai or Drunkard�s Noodles are proper for a Holiday lunch, right?

I hope you and yours had just as super spectacular of a day as I did.

+++++++++

Today�s video is an oldie and an obscure one. It�s A Beautiful Day were one of those bands that people knew of in the 60�s, but they never really gained a mass audience and were long forgotten when the nostalgia train left the station.

However, here�s a clip of them in concert. The sound isn�t the best but hopefully it will give you a tease of their song �White Bird�, which gained some FM radio play back when FM radio was subversive. It was beating the system, dig?


 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!