Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:05 a.m. - September 26, 2007
Complaining Ahoy!
It may be time to retire my purple no complaining bracelet, because I�ve definitely had some things to complain about. I could go all Frank Costanza at Festivus on a lot of people.

Oh, heck, why not�

First, I still don�t have the internet in my apartment, and I�m getting beyond riled up about it. I know I really shouldn�t be spending important waking hours goofing around online, but sometimes I will need to work from here and to have to pull up stakes and go to the nearest coffee shop is the height of suckitude.

Actually, no, there are many many things higher in suckitude than that, like two of your best friends making fun of punctuation, like, well, disease, hunger, the Bush Administration, but you get the idea.

Second, I�m convinced that people who drive Corvettes are the rudest drivers in the land. I was merging onto Highway 62 today and this doofus-head behind me on the merge speeds up, then moves to the right of me, then behind me, then right again and then zooms past me and THEN goes right back in front of me, as the traffic in front slowed up. Hey, dork, it�s MERGING TRAFFIC and your precious little hot rod isn�t going to get merged into traffic any faster.

As many people do in this day and age, I texted my indignation to a friend. I let Designerchica know, because I know she thinks like me when it comes to rudity.

She responded by saying something about the length of some thing or other on his person. Heh. I expected nothing less. Though �Little Willy� was soon stuck in my head.

Third, there are many many streets in this area that are irritating. Not because they�re curvy, bumpy, or narrow. Nope. They�re irritating because they change names, willy nilly, for no good reason.

Case in point � the street I live on intersects a fairly major thoroughfare that takes traffic into St. Louis Park and Minneapolis. North of the major thoroughfare, it changes names.

No, it doesn�t change cities. No, it doesn�t curve. It just changes names. Same street, different name.

I spoke of this to Lap and she said that she�s used to it now, but can definitely see how that could be irritating.

I even find the way they name some of the streets charming. They have to make up names, somehow, or appropriate some names because of the alphabetical way they sometimes do a north-south street. Zinran, Zarthan, Xylon, Xenwood, to name a few. Of course, they have a real cool name in Xerxes Avenue. All hail Xerxes! He�s due for a comeback.
But the thing that irritated me the most happened this morning. (This would be Tuesday morning, but thanks to my internet�s communication breakdown � I�m posting this a day late. Grrrrr!) We have conference calls once a week at 6:30 in the morning. That makes sense as we could be expected at a client�s site at 8:00 AM or so in the east, so a 6:30 Central call is OK.

But it�s no fun if one of the members of the call is in an airport.

Actually, that would be OK. It�s no fun in an airport that has a horrifically loud and crackly sound system that obliterates all sonic waves in a 5 square mile radius whilst they announce that it�s the last call for the 6:40 AM flight to Omaha.

So while you are in the midst of a salient point, you get totally blasted out of your head by this�this noise�

And you haven�t even finished your Fruity Pebbles yet.

Anyway, that�s Smed�s Complaints for today.

I mean, there are bigger fish to fry in the world. That�s why I have the purple bracelet.

Or had�I think that�s lost its mojo now. Don�t worry, I have 99 more in my car.

One of them HAS to work!

(Oh, while I�m on a roll, the season premiere of Special Victims Unit is a trainwreck with convenient plot resolutions and two dimensional characters. But what else is new??)

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!