Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:43 p.m. - September 06, 2007
My Mind Is Scattered As I Await The Colts Game
I am OFFICIALLY ready for some football. Tonight, the Colts play the Saints, and here I am in Minnesota.

Not that I�d be at the game anyway, but there�d be some excitement in the air and buzz in the office about the game tonight. Instead, I feel abandoned here in Viking-land, just like any gay Republican Senator. And with the Twins being blah, the Gophers� football team losing to Bowling Green, the Vikings not exciting anyone, and none of the basketball teams worth a hoot, everyone is just waiting for hockey season.

I checked online regarding tickets for the Wild and the Gophers� hockey teams. I had better save my nickels and dimes and hit StubHub or eBay to get some decent seats. The Gophers� hockey team has a 2,800 name season ticket waiting list and it costs $10 just to be placed ON the waiting list.

Well, if Katie�s grandkids ever want hockey tickets, I�d better get on that.

Today we had a home inspection for the potential house up here in the �burbs, and it went well except for one hitch. And hopefully that hitch will be easy to negotiate. Unfortunately, it�s a hitch that really could cost some dollars to fix or replace. Again, though, it�s not a deal breaker. The inspector was quite pleased with the house, really.

Of course he was � Liz has great taste!

Today felt weird since I had a podcast project for work, my announcement came out to the world (OK, the Advancement Services world), and I had to leave early due to the inspection. I had lunch with my fellow noob, Nodak, and we�re totally in opposite situations. She immediately parachuted into a role at a local hospital filling an interim staffing need, so she feels out of touch with the office and the practices and procedures.

I would like to get some consultin� goin� on, but alas I must have patience. I have a handle on all of the documents and internal practices and marketing.

There is another noob coming soon in our DC office, and then we�ll be a fully staffed lean mean Advancement Services Consulting machine.

Have substandard practices and procedures at your peril!

We have a meeting at 8 tomorrow regarding marketing � perhaps that can be our slogan? Avast ye swabs, prepare to be audited!

I do feel like a human as I actually ate a salad tonight with dinner � and dinner wasn�t out of a box. I marinated some chicken in BBQ sauce and broiled it and had that with a salad and some mashed potatoes (ok, they were in a container, but it�s not like it�s frozen pizza).

And I�m getting the hang of my surroundings here in Minnesota. But what I�m not getting the hang of is being apart from the family.

I�ve read books last night and tonight and will tomorrow. Saturday I have a busy schedule with a client review session. I�m going to be a big time sponge.

I will know as much about our clients and our processes as I do about the band Sweet. Because it�s so funny funny what you do honey honey what you do what you mean to me. And you know honey honey that�s it�s so funny funny that you mean all the world to me.
That�s for Tart, since she may be the only one who remembers that one! Not that I�m revealing her age � it�s just that she has a good memory for these things. Right?

Heh.

Well, it�s time to watch the Colts. Geaux Colts, beat dem Saints!

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!