Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:00 a.m. - September 05, 2007
I Have Been Doing Stuff And Things...
So what have I been doing?

Well, I�m learning at work, and doing some writing and producing some presentations. Hopefully soon I�ll get into the meat of this thing here. It�s a process, and they do invest two years or so in you at the front end, so we shall see. It takes time.

They have hired a �coach� who is a PhD in psychology and has written a book on leadership and all that, so that will be good as well.

The first Friday of every month they work with all of the noobs like me to get them revved up and ready to take on the world.

The first Saturday of every month is a client review meeting, and yes, I�ll be there this Saturday, with bells on and a piping hot cuppa joe and perhaps a Danish (hopefully blueberry cream cheese).

I�m getting along well with my colleagues, going to lunch and picking their brains. It�s a good group � but it�s hard to know who will be in the office from one day to another. However, they do print out a phone list every morning that shows who is in and who is out.

Calendars around here are sacrosanct. If it�s not on your calendar, it�s not happening.

I�m surrounded by information. They have a central document system, a word processing department who does all of the detail work on your presentations and documents to give them a �corporate� feel. They have a CRM software, and they encourage all of the consultants to carry Blackberry-type devices, so I have a Blackjack. (Oh, I think I told you that�) They also have a great copier / scanner and it�s set up so I don�t fax anything to anyone anymore, I just scan it and then forward the email.

Sweet!

After work, I do a variety to things. I am exploring the area � Sunday I took a drive out Highway 5 to where it met US 212 and then took 212 back, and then on up County Road 60 to 62. I was just exploring the area as it were, because you never know when knowledge like that will come in handy.

Right?

Other than that I�ve been reading, listening to music, watching baseball and football, eating a bachelor�s diet (someone get me a salad, STAT!) and arranging my internet bookmarks. Sometimes all of the above at the same time.

Oh, yeah, I am the multi-media event.

Sort of.

I may be getting older but I can only concentrate on three things at once now, instead of four or�LOOKIT! A DIME!

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!