Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:16 a.m. - June 12, 2007
The Madness Starts Tomorrow
And tomorrow, the madness starts.

Yep, at least in the next two weeks, I�ll be jetting around for interviews.

The first one is in Minneapolis, for a consulting firm. (Actually, the first is today at 1:00. It�s a phone interview with a major university close by � so I could stay here if I get that job.)

This (the consulting gig) is a great opportunity, but I need to be sure I�m ready for a job with 100-150 days of travel. Ah, that�s why I�m visiting the HQ, just to be sure we both want to make the plunge together.

Then, in the next week, I�m off to Richmond and Baltimore for job interviews. I have good leads in Waco and Ann Arbor. I�ve also put in applications in Tempe, Tuscon, Chicago, Stony Brook and Bloomington. I don�t have �ins� there (except Bloomington, where I�ll tap into the Wabash network) but I shall endeavor to persevere.

So if I don�t write an essay for a day or two, you�ll now why. I�m being courted, and I�m courting them. Yee-haw.

Part of me thinks it will be good to move away � as I may need a fresh start. Part of me doesn�t want to leave this house, our friends, our church, and the work we�ve started in the community. I guess there will be a path and we will find out where we are supposed to go when it�s time to make that choice. Right?

So, it�ll be an adventure the next few weeks.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++

Some random stuff for your enjoyment. Or not. Your mileage may vary. Consult your dealer for terms and prices. Offer not valid in Vermont or the U. S. Virgin Islands.

� When cleaning out my office I noticed that I had a huge amount of CDs in there. Many of them are from my dear friends around the internet, and the songs are all safely tucked away on my music drive and my iPod (well, except for �More Than Words� � can you burn bytes?) but the other CDs were ones that I had made over various and sundry times, either featuring new songs, or random songs, or old songs that I was selling the CDs back for.

I�m wondering what to do with all of the CDs I made, but I had an idea. I really need to get rid of them if we move across country, so I may have a mix CD giveaway. Stay tuned.

� Also, I need to get on the ball about selling almost all of my CDs back. I am going to keep the box sets, Beatles, Beach Boys, and perhaps a few other artists and Liz will want to keep some CDs for her car, but the rest are going for caysh money dollarz. Stay tuned for that as well, because I don�t exactly know how I will get rid of them all.

� One more thing � I�ve been doing a lot of work on my music collection and then writing songs down to mix. I had five mixes segregated and then I just kept adding more and more. So I�ve decided to keep making mixes, and not move the songs around when I hear something and decide it should be on a mix. I�m rather much just going to try to flow whatever randomness happens, so you could get the Statler Brothers and Sonic Youth in the same CD. Will I send these out? I may, along with the random mixes for the office. Again, keep your internet dial right here for more information.

� I hate to say this, but take away the first four albums and Too Tough To Die, the Ramones were basically hit or miss, making mediocre records with a few highlights. But those five albums seal the deal for an all-time band.

� Also, in cleaning out my office, my buddy TC had sent me a CD of songs by Dan Bern. For some reason, I never listened to it, but now I have and there�s some good stuff. Right now, I�ve been digging on the song �Krautmeyer�, and the lyrics (found here) are hysterical.

� I was the breakfast chef today. Yum. Bacon, eggs, hash browns, OJ. What more do you need in life? Oh, a toothpick. Yeah. That�ll work, too.

� Tomorrow the cool SIL leaves, but I�ll race her to the airport. Actually, I�ll win, since my flight is at 9:30. And since I�m going to Minneapolis, I�ll give you three guesses on which airline I�m taking, and the first two don�t count. I hope I get there tomorrow. Heh.

� We subscribe to Babybug, so this is downright humorous to us. Also, McSweeneys is having a sale because they�re going through some tough times, so help out, eh?

� Do you think I�d land a job if I gave every answer during a job interview in iambic pentameter?

� Hairballs! Both of our kitties have hairballs. Where�s the carpet steam cleaner?

� Had I known, I wouldn�t have stopped playing with Legos when I was 14.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!