Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:13 a.m. - April 17, 2007
Smed Vs. Doorknobs
You know my first rule of home repair.

�Pay for someone to do it.�

I�m not a constructicon, I�m a destructicon.

Case in point, right now we have two door knobs that are totally broken, and I�m the last one to use them.

About three weeks ago, I was going down into the basement. The basement door needs replacing, for sure, and the doorknob I think was very old school. But we had put a doorknob protector on it so Kristin couldn�t grab it and walk downstairs.

Well, I was going to grab some pizza for dinner, and our big freezer is downstairs. That doorknob protector is always tricky. It�s almost adult proof.

I grabbed the doorknob, gave it a yank and a twist (you have to yank on the door to open it, since the house has settled a bit (understatement of the year)) and�.

CLANK CLANK!

I was left holding the knob, while hardware spilled onto our floor.

Hmmm�

Well now, this is quite the predicament. Can I still get the pizza?

Yes, there�s enough of a gap that you can give the door a yank and open up the door.

So the pizza was acquired, and all was well with the world. Well, except for the fact that we had a broken doorknob.

I looked at it, and I thought I had it put back together, but it didn�t hold.

Well, we do need to get a better door in there, and we can open up the door with a yank (though I�m afraid that one day the door will just give out, and then there will be chaos, anarchy, and cats down in the basement), so hopefully we can ride out the inconvenience until the door is fixed.

And now, we have another door to fix.

Saturday, I was doing due diligent work in the hizzy (yo) and was locking the outside door to our porch. Now, when you�re opening the lock, it�s a bit tricky since you have to pull the door towards you to make sure the little bar moves back from the door.

Well, when you�re locking it, you don�t need to do that.

And I did.

And I heard this �crack� and had a door knob in my hand, and heard this �ping ping ping� outside.

Basically, the doorknob assembly cracked in the middle, in the place that houses the screws that connect the doorknob onto both sides of the door.

Oh, great.

Now, can anyone open that door?

I went outside to pick up the rest of the doorknob, and I could open the door. There was enough of a place to grip the door, but you really can�t be carrying anything, so it�s going to be tricky with groceries and / or children.

So, the count thus far is Doorknobs 2, Smed 0. And I need to get someone warming up in the pen.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!