Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:53 a.m. - April 09, 2007
Your Love - A Critical Review
You know, a lot happened this weekend (good things!) and there are some pictures I need to get off the camera to the computer (much cuteness will abound) but my home computer is janky wanky to the max (yo!) so I�m going to be cheap and tawdry and move along to something I had in the can already. Sorry. But stay tuned for cold baseball, Easter dresses, baptisms, and sleeping on the couch excitement! Whoot! (Or is it Whoomp!) There It Is! (You know, we never did have the death match between Tag Team and 95 South, did we?)

+++++++++++++++

In buying some songs from my vinyl collection on iTunes, I stumbled across the Outfield. You remember them � three blokes from England with high cheekbones and an actual real drum sound in the 80�s. They were slotted into the Album Oriented Rock pile o� goo with Starship and Journey and that like � you know � not �METAL� but not new wave. So they fit nicely amongst old songs by Kansas and Bob Seger.

Anyway, their big hit was �Your Love�, which I remember that many people loved, especially girls and women. But as the song was washing over my ears in iTunes, I paid attention to the lyrics, and I�m wondering why girls and women would particularly like this song � besides the high cheekbones of the singer. (I know, you can�t discount the cute factor. I suppose Justin Timberlake could espouse all kinds of gnarly nasty things and he�d still sell 3 million records, if he smiled while doing it.)

Anyway, I wanted to give these lyrics a critical review. Shall we start? OK.


YOUR LOVE (John Spinks)

Josie's on a vacation far away
Come around and talk it over

Stop right there, young man. I assume Josie is the singer�s girlfriend, and she�s on vacation. So he�s inviting some other person to his place, as he wants talk something over. What could it be? And who is this person he�s inviting over? His church group? His sports geek friends? His canasta partner? Hmmm�.


So many things that I wanna say
You know I like my girls a little bit older
I just wanna use your love tonight
I don't wanna lose your love tonight

Ok, now it�s clear. CALL CHRIS HANSEN! NOW!

First of all, what kinds of things does he want to say? �You know, a girl your age shouldn�t be over at my place this late on a school night?�
Second, I know all about this �using your love� tonight deal, and well, Mr. Spink, I don�t think you�re going to be playing checkers or summarizing Proust�s masterwork � La Recherche Du Temps Perdu, now.

And what would Josie think? Should we call her on vacation? I don�t think she�d be a pussycat if you started out the conversation like this?

�Hey love, she�s over here�.yeah�her�.anyway�I just wanna use her love tonight�Hello?? Josie???�

Oh, and what you the nameless nymphette? To tell her, �I just wanna use your love tonight� gets points for chutzpah and honesty, it�s probably not the best thing in the world for the self-esteem of the young lady.

I ain't got many friends left to talk to
No one's around when I'm in trouble
You know I'd do anything for you
Stay the night but keep it undercover

Well, jeez, Spink, do your FRIENDS know that you�re stepping out on Josie. Perhaps if you weren�t always out looking to get some strange whenever she�s out on holiday, then maybe you�d have some friends.

And what kind of trouble are you in, really? The way you look, all nice and purty, it looks like you probably just jaywalked or something, really, unless you were busted for soliciting

Of course he wants the nameless girl to �keep it undercover�, because, well, from what I read, she may be jailbait, and nowadays that gets you on a list you DON�T want to be on!

I just wanna use your love tonight
I don't wanna lose your love tonight

Yeah�yeah�yeah

Trying to stop my hands from shakin'
Somethin' in my mind's not makin' sense
It's been a while since we were all alone
I can't hide the way I'm feelin'

So, you�ve done this before with this girl and I guess it�s just a thing when Josie�s out of town. Tell me, Spink, what is it about her that makes you shake and causes you to go all weird? Is it because it�s �forbidden�, or is it something else?

And what makes you think this young hottie will just drop everything and come over to see your sorry butt, huh? I mean, what have you done for her when Josie was IN town? Did you even call?

As you leave me please would you close the door
and don't forget what I told you
Just 'cause you're right - that don't mean I'm wrong
Another shoulder to cry upon
I just wanna use your love tonight
I don't wanna lose your love tonight

Ok, you can�t even get your sorry butt outta bed and take her to the door and kiss her goodbye? What is this?

And what is she right about, that you�re a total schmuck loser?

Just wait until Josie gets home and hears this song on the radio. Heh�.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!