Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:55 a.m. - November 02, 2006
Leaving - But Giving The Keys To Some Visitors!
Tomorrow morning, Liz, Katie, Kristin, our nephew from Arizona and I will trundle into a mini van (a most definitely non-sexxxy mini van) and make our journey to Kansas and Oklahoma.

While it is nice to spend time in Wichita visiting Snow White, and also to visit Liz�s family, the purpose of this trip is a bit melancholy.

On Sunday, Liz and I, and our nephew will be taking a trip down to Shattuck, Oklahoma, meeting the rest of the Arizona contingent, and spread Liz�s mom�s ashes on the family farm.

Our �base camp� will be Snow White�s house in Wichita. Now, I can usually drive from Indiana to Wichita in one day. But with Kristin being so small, and this being her first long car ride, we�re not going to risk it. So we�re spending Friday night in Columbia, Missouri, and then probably will stay there on the way back home Tuesday night.

Again, this would normally be a trip full of joy and laughter, and for the girls, it will be for the most part. While we�re traveling to Oklahoma, they�re either going to the zoo or a museum with Snow White and her family.

Because of all this, I�m going to be out of pocket for a while. I may be able to check email and messages once or twice a day, but that�s about all, really. I need to be a rock for Liz and the girls and the family during this time.

So, instead of leaving Smed�s Corner dark, or post another greatest hits linky linky essay, I�m going to actually turn the keys of the kingdom over to some of my janky best internet friends and writers. You may be familiar with them, and if you�re not, you should check them out, for real.

Tomorrow, I�m taking a risk and having Andria come in and play for a while. Why is it a risk? Well, this sassy Southern Californian tends to express herself rather�freely. And as you know, Smed�s Corner has been at most a PG rated place to read. Oh, well, you only live once, eh?

Saturday, Nikki will dazzle us with her writings. She�s nakedbarista here on Diaryland (but it�s locked � you could ask nicely, though). She�s a firey redhead, married to a handsome Marine with two darling children, and definitely will be well worth a weekend read.

Sunday, Tia will swoop in and spread a little sunshine and birdseed our way. I have always enjoyed her cawing writing and look forward to what she will deliver to the Smed�s Corner audience.

On Monday, Dandy will be in charge of the corner. This mother of six kids has always spread sunshine and blue skies in her comments, and I�m sure that Monday�s post will also contain lots of sunshine. She has the best laugh you�ve ever heard as well!

Tuesday, Violet will be on board, live and direct from a boat in Cali (or maybe her office, who knows). She, like me, is a music dork that loves to spread good tunes throughout the land. And she has a flare for the snark as well.

And finally, I conclude with the wonderful Lap. What can I say about Lap? She�s a great mother, another music fiend and a great friend. I bonded with her instantly � she�s like my female Moose � my best bud. I can�t wait to see what she can share with us that day.

Well, there�s the lineup. I�m sure they will keep you all riveted while I�m out taking care of things. I leave the Corner in good hands, and I will see you next week. Take care!

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!