Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:41 p.m. - October 10, 2006
Where Be Me Sunglasses, Peeps?
Saturday was such a good day, in all aspects. Good football game, good lunch, good time with friends afterward. It was a real good time � laughing and all that and me being silly and being banned from air guitar, etc.

OK, yeah, I was a little late and yeah, I woke up Sunday all fuzzy a bit. And of course, I had to be the liturgist at church and it was Old Testament reading time, and that�s, well, a bit scary because God at that point was in his ass-kicking and name-taking phase.

Katie had the snuffles this weekend, and the transitory principle of child-rearing means that Liz soon got them. So she needed a nap right after church, and I got the kids fed, and Kristin put down. I watched the Formula One race that I had recorded, and when that was over, I went to get my laundry.

Yes, I do my own laundry. Fellas, deal with it.

Flash back to earlier in the week, if you would. I have glasses that are pretty neat, and actually they don�t make them anymore (they�re Danish and I supposedly got one of the last pairs they made in stock). Since I�m blind as a nearsighted mole, I need sunglasses as well. But instead of getting prescription pair of sunglasses, I decided to get some clip-ons that are molded to my frames in a perfect fit so I don�t look like a dork with flip ups or anything like that.

Sure, they were a bit pricy but what the hey.

Well, I�m on year three of these glasses (my eyes, thankfully, have stopped changing � my astigmatism seems under control) and I think this is the end of the line, but until I go see my eye doctor I still am in need to these sunglasses to help me when I�m out in the sun.

But they went missing one day. Sometimes the weather has been cloudy and I need them for one trip, but then not for the rest of the day. I try to put them someplace in my office or in my car where I can get them easily.

(Yes, I KNOW I have a case for them � but why make it easy on myself, eh?)

It got sunny late in the week, and I went to look for my sunglasses. They weren�t where I normally put them in the car, they weren�t in the case, and they weren�t on the counter at home where I normally put them.

Hmmm�maybe I left them at work.

I checked work. Nope.

Hmmm�.ok. Maybe I left them in the shirt pocket I wore the day before.

Nope. I checked the pants too. Not there either.

Well, they HAVE to be somewhere, I said.

Saturday, I have a flash go through my head. They�re in Liz�s car. We drove the girls to Little Mexico on Tuesday for dinner. I bet I left them in her car, by the Sesame Street CDs.

Nope. Not there.

I�m flummoxed. Where can those rascals be?

Well, I start doing laundry on Sunday. Being a good little laundry person, I actually separate the whites and grays from the colors (yes, I�m a good boy and don�t mix my reds with whites, but I put the grays in with the whites because I want to be sure I can do my laundry in two loads, only) and put them in different piles.

I was putting my blue and white Oxford shirt in the machine when I felt something in the pocket.

Yes, it was the sunglasses. I had put them in there on Tuesday, and forgotten about them. So when I looked for them and checked the day before�s shirt, it wasn�t in that shirt, it was in the shirt two days before, now buried under socks and boxers and other things.

Argh! I need�something�what I don�t know, but something. Maybe implant a little beeper on those sunglasses or something.

To review:

1. Smed has an easy solution for his sunglasses problem, but doesn�t utilize it.
2. Smed can remember all kinds of pop culture and unimportant crap, but doesn�t remember some of the most mundane things.
3. Smed puts his blue and white striped Oxford shirt in with the whites, for some reason.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!