Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:12 p.m. - July 28, 2006
Dear iPod
Dear iPod,

I�m sorry I have neglected you this week. I�ve been busy making mix CDs for Eve, and I have given her quite a bountiful supply. I�ve been writing liner notes for her as well, since she requested them, and that�s how I filled my breaks and lunch at work instead of listening to the songs that you were bringing forth.

I know I left you at home the last couple of days. In fact, I listened to NPR at times when I didn�t have one of Eve�s CDs in my car. Now, don�t get jealous. I need to listen to NPR from time to time to hear the news. It�s part of what keeps me going; I need to be informed on the world today.

And at home, I haven�t been listening to you much, either. Oh, sure, when I�ve cooked a bit or cleaned up the kitchen, sure, but not at night as much because I need to make sure I spend time with Liz. That means interacting with her, and being able to talk to her instead of having the music in my ears.

Oh, sure, I used you Sunday when I mowed the lawn. I used Evil�s mix to mow the lawn, and I smiled because she made a neat logo and posted it on her site when she received the CDs. You can see that here if you like.

But soon after the lawn mowing, I put you back in your cradle, and went to watch some baseball on TV.

You may be thinking that I have abandoned music. You may be thinking, iPod, that my Zolofted mind has found other pursuits and won�t go back to the days when you provided me with great music up to 8 hours a day.

Fear not, iPod, I will always come back to you. Now that Eve�s CDs are complete and in the mail (even though I forgot to add my note to her � I�ll just have to email her) I will now start on three other sets of mixes for people.

You see, iPod, I�m worried about you, too. I�m worried about your battery. I used you a lot, and I can see the first signs that your battery may be losing some of its life. If I play you often, starting when I get to work, by the end of the day I don�t know if you will have any mojo or not.

So I�m taking care of you, the best I can. I make sure Kristin doesn�t grab you and try to play with you. Katie already knows that the iPod is no touch. The cats don�t seem too interested in it anymore.

But tomorrow, it�s a new day. I may be making breakfast for the family, and I definitely will be helping clean out the kitchen. So there will be music in my ears. And after we get back from the library to look at the Zoomobile from the Indianapolis Zoo, I will try to sneak away and spend an hour with you in musical bliss.
So, iPod, will you forgive me? Can I be back on your good side? If we can remain together, I have a simple request for you to give me a sign.

This afternoon at work, when I hit �shuffle�, play one of my favorites for me, will you? Thanks.

Yours truly,

Smed

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!