Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:27 a.m. - December 01, 2005
Weather, or Not?
Well, it�s snowing here in BFE Indiana.

It does look pretty, but it again cements the fact that Indiana weather has a mental disease or defect.

I do believe it would be bi-polar, possibly schizophrenic, but at any rate Dr. Skoda on Law & Order would probably recommend a plea deal of some sort.

In the past week, the temps have ranged from 11 degrees on the 24th to 63 degrees on the 28th.

Monday was almost an idyllic fall day � mild temps and sunny.

Tuesday it was in the 40�s but the wind was so biting it felt like it was 20 degrees.

Yesterday it was cloudy, cold, and rainy. It was a day that would drive you to take a few nips off a bottle of Wild Turkey and watch trials on Court TV for no damn good reason.

Earlier in the month we had thunderstorms that rivaled the spring thunderstorms. In fact, there were some pretty nasty tornadoes down south.

This fall, some days in October felt like July days with the heat and humidity. That�s quite unusual.

Weather around here is always mercurial, especially in the spring and fall. You really don�t know what you�re getting from day to day. In the spring, there could be snowfall in April, and 80 degree days in March.

In the fall, usually (I say usually) you could have days in the 60s in mid-November and in the 70s in October.

Summertime here is usually 80s with some humidity, and there�s usually a stretch of the dreaded 90 / 90 for a day or two. (Actually, I don�t think the humidity is that high but it sure seems like it). Those are days where you could coat yourself with Right Guard and it would do no good � you�d be sweating right through your shirt in no time.

And that always impresses the ladies. (Hi, dollface. Please ignore the fact that I�m pitting out in a massive way. Thanks!)

But there usually aren�t big thunderstorms in the fall � they happen in the spring and the summer. So hearing the big ol� thunderboomers in November was a bit disconcerting.

Did I see a horseman in one of those clouds?

And while it does snow in December, for sure, I�d rather the temperature be a gradual decline. None of this 11 to 63 to snow in a week for me, thanks.
Now, I don�t mind a lot of weather. Well, I can tolerate a lot of weather.

Fall is my favorite time of year, and spring is close by. I like the fact that here it�s between 50 and 75 degrees with low humidity and just a nice feeling in the air. Of course, that�s the ideal state in those seasons, but there are enough of those days that I don�t mind them much.

Of course, as I noted above, it�s basically a crapshoot from day to day.

I don�t like being hot, at all. So why am I in Indiana in the summer, in a house that is almost impossible to cool without divine intervention?

Summer (and late spring) brings the thunderstorms here. When those systems pass through, it�s like the weather forgot it�s lithium for the day. The day would start out climbing to about 85 degrees and then end at 65 degrees within an hour after one of those systems passes through.

I don�t really like being cold, either. Well, cold and wet. That�s why I�m not a huge fan of playing in the snow. Katie, of course, loves it, so I must be a trouper. I think the issue was that when I was a kid, some snow always melted inside the sleeves of my coat and the cold, cold water on my skin really freaked me out.

I don�t mind the cold in general if I can bundle up enough. Fortunately, most of the time cold in Indiana means above 15 or 20 degrees. And I really don�t mind going out and blowing the snow off of my driveway and sidewalk, ever since I got a fancy new snowblower.

(I had to get a snowblower. The first time it snowed after we moved, it took me almost 2 hours to shovel the sidewalk around the house. They�ll fine you if you don�t shovel the sidewalk, and I like being a good neighbor. Well, that, and keeping my money so I can spend it on iTunes downloads and beer.)

But months like December really bug me. It�s snowing now, and it�s starting accumulate a bit on the lawns (but not on the streets). That tells me it�ll be melted soon and no doubt it will be 60 degrees in three days and sunny.

Here in Indiana, we never put away our shorts. You never know when you�ll need them.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!