Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:23 p.m. - September 18, 2007
ENFP - Alpha 7 - And Thee
I�m a complicated man.

My test scores say so!

For the new job, I took the Myers-Briggs and the CPI. And the results show that while most who get to know me understand me, some personality quirks show that I may confuzzle some people some of the time if they catch me in a mood where I�m trending toward the opposite of what my normal personality shows.

Just as I always thought � I have a split level head.

Of course, anyone whose iPod can segue between Gordon Lightfoot and Chaka Khan on a moment�s notice has issues, right?

And of course, I have to remind myself that these guys didn�t invent the Myers-Briggs:


I�m an ENFP on the Myers-Briggs. (Extraversion, Intuition, Feeling, Perceiving). The leadership coach I am working with says that that particular personality type has no problem in finding jobs because EVERYBODY LUUUUUVS US! (No, that�s not the real reason, but it is true that ENFPs don�t have much issue finding jobs.)

My Extraversion and Intuition scores were OFF the scale, almost. I prefer the abstract, the conceptual, and I prefer people. I need people. Braaaaaains!

I�m on the borderline between Thinking and Feeling, as I can be logical, questioning, and critical, but I am also more compassionate and tender. That�s the rub right there. People see this abstract, open person all of a sudden start being all-Spock and no-McCoy, and well, it throws people off.

Also, I�m right on the edge between Perceiving and Judging. I am very systematic and methodical, but I also prefer to be open-ended and spontaneous.

Just want everyone wants, someone who is spontaneously methodical. Woot! Hey everyone, let�s design work flow plans for giggles! It�ll be a hoot!

So my overall Myers-Briggs Step II is ENFP (Questioning, Critical, Systematic, Methodical).

So, I�ll devise a conceptual skeleton of a ruthless plan to take over the world, I�ll spring it on everyone suddenly, and everyone will love me for it!

Woot!

The CPI has a lot more psycho-babble mumbo jumbo (almost an exact quote from my Leadership Coach) but it is useful as well.

I�m an ALPHA 7. 7 out of 7. TOP THAT!

I�m very high up in Externality and Norm Favoring. Which is odd, because I always thought I was a rebel, and while I do have some contrariness I want the trains to run on time.

My Ego Integration (see, a psychobabbilicious word there) is level 7, which is �an unusually favorable realization of the potentials of his type�. See, Liz, unusually favorable! Heh.

You can expect �exceptional initiative, self-confidence, constructive ambition, decision-making skills and a talent for leadership.�

See, ma? I made it! To the top!

Things can come and go, but no one can take that ALPHA 7 away from me.

(I may have been on a double dose of Zoloft when I took the test, though�)

Basically, that test was a bit of a warning, because it showed me that I need to watch out that I don�t get too hung up on being right, or wanting everyone to like me, or being rigid about certain things or feeling and caring too much for people that I don�t know very well.

But all in all, it seems that I�m well suited for this new job. Good. I want to kick ass and take names.

But of course, if I�m such a high achiever, why did I put my boxer shorts on backwards this morning.

No lie�and why haven�t I changed them around yet?

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!