Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:38 p.m. - September 12, 2007
I'm Not Down With Other People's...Doobage
Living in an apartment building (which, no doubt was a unit of an old hotel) you sometimes get to share the sights and smells of your neighbors.

It was one thing as I was walking out one day to have a neighbor ask me for a 1/4 cup of milk (she was knocking on the door of a neighbor and there was no answer there). Sure, that was neighborly.

There is a Hispanic family in my building. I think they live in the unit downstairs to mine. Every once in a while I smell their dinner cooking. I assume it is their dinner, because it does smell like you're walking into Little Mexico. It always makes me hungry, and then of course I eat too much when I get hungry right after work.

But then, there's the neighbor kitty-corner across from me.

Saturday, I was walking back into the building as I returned from watching a football game at Gustavus Adolphus College. I smelled this...aroma.

It was an aroma that I had smelled before. Any 17-20 year old that has gone to college (ok, almost any of that age period) knows that smell - the slightly sweet smelling smoke of someone sparkin' one up.

Duuuuuude.

My thought was confirmed as I was unlocking my door. Someone came out of that apartment, and the haze in the apartment started to waft out into the hallway.

Today, when I got back from picking up my laundry uptown, I walked into the building and smelled the same aroma.

Now, I don't think pot is that bad of a drug. I don't really think it's a 'gateway', but it does alter your mind and while you get mellow, you tend to become unmotivated as well. Still, it's better than getting your drink on and becoming a total asshead. Potheads don't really become belligerent morons - they just fall asleep a lot.

But I don't like smoke, period. And I don't like smoke infringing on my space. And I don't really like the fact that I can smell THAT in the hallway. What happens if my family is up visiting?

(Boy, I sound like an old man...STAY OFF OF MY BEGONIAS!)

Dude, either get something to suck up the smoke in your place, or at least stuff a towel under the door the next time you feel the need.

That's all I ask. Is that too much?

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!