Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:07 a.m. - June 14, 2007
Well, That Was A Decent Meeting
Well, that was interesting.

It was a long day. I mean, long day. I left home at about 7:30 in the morning and didn�t get back until 11:30 at night.

And I have a lot to think about.

Think, think, think.

Oh, bother!

Basically, they were selling me to join the firm. They run this consulting firm like a law firm. I�d have to relocate up to Minneapolis, which would be nice.

Yet, the travel is constant. It�s four days a week, sometimes five, on the road. The emphasis is on �billables�. And if I take time off, I don�t earn.

After a while, I�d be expected to maintain my own clients and get more clients in if I want to keep earning more and more.

The compensation is terrific, since it�s a set salary plus a bonus based on your performance every six months.

The other consultants are all nice, but they�re �more seasoned� (at least the ones in the office � I think most of them were on the road working) and I�d be the young pup.

However, I�d fill a great niche for the firm and one that has a potential to grow and explode. That means I�d be a great provider for the family, which I�d see every once in a while.

And that�s the rub.

Do I want to help people with problems, rake in the cash, but stay in a hotel room most of the week? Or do I want to stay put and raise a family?

Well, I still need to get the other offers, and really, THIS offer, but it�s something to really think about now, so when the offers come in, I can be smart about it.

But it�s a lot to think about.

I need to relax today, if I can. I�m going to a meeting tonight, but other than that I�m going to relax and take it easy.

Well, as soon as I touch base with someone else. Gotta network!

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!