Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:35 a.m. - June 07, 2007
Just Admit It...
Admit it.

Go ahead. We�re among friends.

And besides, that�s the first step is admitting it. You know that.

You�ve Googled yourself.

You�ve Googled your screen names too.

Yes, you have�.don�t deny it.

I know I have. And the results were expected.

When I Googled my full screen name I got a plethora of postings at message boards, this site, and other things. It was almost a snapshot of Smed.

Smed, of course, also stands for �single minute exchange of dies� and I�ve had some hits on this site when people Google that, so just going for that leads to a lot of pages of stuff about lean manufacturing and things like that.

There was a posting on the Urban Dictionary that wasn�t quite complimentary but �Smedley�, which Smed derives from was the bomb, yo.

When I Google my real name, I see that I�m in a death struggle with someone from the University of Arkansas who is a computer security geek. Me, I�m just a well-rounded geek. And I also know that he uses his middle name, while my name is my first name as God intended it.

So what�s the point of this?

Am I that narcissistic today that I feel the need to Google myself and bask in the glory?

Am I that desperate for content that I�m reduced to this cheap ploy?

Or am I too busy making the world a better place?

I think I just got nothin� really. It�s one of those dry periods today. I had a fantastic day yesterday with a lot of movement going on, and I need to do some follow up this afternoon with a few places as well that hopefully will lead to something. I may be taking some airplane trips in the next couple of weeks to go talk to some folks. Hoo-ray!

Tomorrow, there�s gonna be somethin� fun for the entire weekend, I swear. You don�t wanna miss it.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!