Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:04 a.m. - May 29, 2007
Memorable Memorial Day
Ah, the weekend. There is nothing like a three-day weekend to get your spirits moving and grooving.

Of course, I needed to get my spirits moving. Mission accomplished.

My brother was in town, and the big to-do was to celebrate my Dad�s 83rd birthday. Of course, we did this in our own style with a family cookout at Niece Nurse�s place near Lafayette.

Somehow, we always celebrate with food. I guess it�s the American way.

It was a good birthday celebration. Katie loves to play with her cousins, and Kristin is now a happy and outgoing almost-2 year old that will allow her extended family to pick her up and hold her and give her lovins�. It�s about time, really!

Sunday, for the only the second time since 1973, I missed the Indianapolis 500. I decided that with a recent revamp of my personal life and choices it would not be as enjoyable as it has been in the past. So, instead, we went to church and�

I taught Sunday school.

No, the ground did not shake. Nor did the Earth tremble. Nor did Ronnie James Dio rise from wherever he is and shake the foundations with a piercing wail.

No, I taught about the apostles Matthew and Nathaniel, got some discussion going and then went to church. Liz was the liturgist, so I had kid korral duty.

The weather was iffy for the race anyway, so I sat down to watch the Monaco Grand Prix and then went to work on the computer for a while in finishing up my iTunes project.

(I only have 1 � tubs of CDs left to go�yeah!)

When I got on the computer, the rain in the area had delayed the race after just 113 laps, so I was glad I decided to skip it. There�s nothing worse than sitting in soggy stands waiting for the track to dry.

Sunday afternoon, we went to a friend�s house for�

Yep, another cookout.

Cows had a lot of fear and loathing this weekend.

It was good to see friends and talk to them and relax, especially after the crazy week we�ve all had. Friends are a good thing.

When I got to their house, the Indy 500 just restarted, so I got to hear some of it on the radio. It rained again in Indianapolis later on, so the race didn�t go 500 miles and everyone was soaking wet. Darn, I missed being waterlogged.

So after getting the kids all fat and sassy on meat and sugary treats (oh, and veggies as well � no, really � we brought a veggie tray) we all went home. It was about an hour late for bedtime (ok�almost two hours) but I thought the girls would sleep in on Memorial Day.

Nope.

That�s OK, I had to truck over to Lebanon to cover the baseball sectional. It got me out of the house, off the streets, and out of trouble.

There were two games I had to cover, and well, you could spend time a lot worse than by watching high school baseball in Indiana, especially when you have free food and drink and a free ticket in the press box.

Hooray for me! Free stuff! Who-hoo.

Now, today, I�ve accomplished a lot and it�s 11. Soon, I have to go to Satan�s Discount Store to get a swimsuit.

Yes, it�s a swim party to celebrate the end of Montessori School for the year, and Liz, for some reason, thinks that the swimsuit that I had when we went on our honeymoon in 1994 may not fit anymore.

Oh, hon, really now??

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!