Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:31 a.m. - March 11, 2006
My Office - Seeing Is Believing
You would think that someone who a licensed therapist diagnosed as having a mild case of OCD would keep an office neater than this, right?

Ah, well, that�s always been my bane.

I demand order in my spreadsheets. It bothers me STILL that my bookcases aren�t in order, darn it.

No time.

My CDs need a good alphabetizing too.

No time.

But it bugs me.

I�m the one who on iTunes meticulously seeks out the actual albums that the �greatest hits� are from, and types those in instead of �Best of� or �Greatest Hits�. Why? Because I can, that�s why.

So why is my office like that?

I don�t know.

I have a lot of stuff, though, as you can see.

Katie loves to come by my office, because she says, �Daddy has a lot of toys there!� Why yes, yes I do.

I also have a lot of pictures hanging about. You can�t see them there, but I have a big Monet print on one wall (it doesn�t work in our new house, so we put it in my office), as well as some old Wabash paraphernalia that I found about the office, including a scholarship agreement from 1847 (or so).

And, of course, my diploma hangs before me, so I�m reminded of what I�m working for. You can see it just above my monitor. It�s huge � it�s on sheepskin. It�s written in Latin as well. So for all I know it could say, �*SmedIndy* escaped within an inch of his life here� and I�d still be happy about it.

I have I think two big glasses I drink water from, and maybe 4 or 5 coffee cups that I rotate around.

Plus all kinds of other stuff and junk.

But you know what? I know where each pile is, and what�s in it, and what I need to get out of it.

I guess I�ve always operated that way � if something is put up then that means I don�t need it. And I think I need everything around there.

Even if it is just for bathroom reading � I need to get at it toot sweet, so I don�t file it.

(Actually, I haven�t filed in months � anyone want to come help me??)

Anyway, I know the actual content of this is pretty low. Not a good value for your dollar today, I�m afraid.

But you know what?

You get to laugh at my office.

So we�re even.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!